Division 1 Premiers

AFL Outer East, Sun Sep 20, 2009

2009 Div 1 A Grade Premiers
Mt Evelyn V Wandin (A Grade) Division ONE had their Grand Finals this week, bringing the netball season of 2009 to a close. In a fantastic game, Wandin took on Mount Evelyn, at Woori Yallock. The atmosphere was incredible, and both teams wanted to win. The game started with Wandin taking the first centre pass and it was all Wandin scoring the first 3 goals of the match. It took a little while for Mt Evelyn to shake off some nerves. At quarter time, Mt Evelyn had managed to lead by 4 goals, but Wandin weren’t going to lie down & they fought back magnificently to level the scores at half time. Mt Evelyn made a couple of changes, swapping their WA & WD and went into the last half with determination and it showed on the scoreboard. Mt Evelyn outscored Wandin, in both the third and fourth quarters, to take home back to back premierships, winning the match 51-38. For Mt Evelyn, Kate Youlten was on fire shooting 32 goals and Sarah Hogan also had a good day shooting 19. For Wandin, Melissa Gardner shot 29 goals. Best on court was awarded to Mt Evelyn’s Goal Defender Tamara Luke, who was a star all day. Mt Evelyn V Upwey (B Grade) This was always going to be a very close game, and the end score certainly showed this. Both teams went in firing, and at quarter time there was only one goal separating them. At half time however, Mt Evelyn had a 5 goal lead and held that lead at 3 quarter time also. Upwey came back in the last quarter to level the scores with 2 minutes to go. It was then goal for goal, the crowd were going crazy & the atmosphere was electric! With 30 seconds to go, Mt Evelyn scored a goal to take the lead and Upwey had the centre pass. Unfortunately for Upwey, they weren’t able to convert the centre pass into a goal, and Mt Evelyn became the Division 1, B grade premiers 41 – 40. For Mt Evelyn Rachael Hickey shot 28 goals and Lauren Tesoriero shot 12 goals. For Upwey, Monique Fage shot 24 and Emma Walker shot 14.. Best on court was awarded to Mt Evelyn’s Natalie Tesoriero. Healesville V Wandin (C Grade) Healesville played Wandin to decide who was going to be the first ever C Grade premiers. There were lots of nerves as Wandin took the first centre pass, they weren’t able to convert it to a goal though, with Healesville turning it over and scoring from it. At the end of the first quarter, Healesville were in front by 1 goal and it was looking to be a very close game. Healesville came out firing for the rest of the game, outscoring Wandin in every quarter, becoming the 2009 C Grade premiers, Healesville 26 to Wandin 15. For The Bloods, Cherly Nugent shot 18 and Rosie Jakobs shot 8. For the Doggies, Alicia Ireland shot 8 and Jo Oostermeyer shot 7. Best on court was awarded to Healesville’s defender Amy Stanley.
Last updated: Monday October 5, 2009
Author: Sys User